The New, New Testament
Just another WordPress.com weblog

“Fight My Men” Sir Andrew Said…

While reading a book (GASP GASP GASP…I know me reading thats scary) I came across a poem that inspired me, and sums up my summer. Here is that poem

“Fight on, my men,” Sir Andrew Said

 “A little I’m hurt but not yet slain.

 “I’ll just lie down and bleed a while,

 “And then I’ll rise and Fight again.”

 The Author is never mentioned and book goes onto mention there are other lines to that poem but for the author who included the poem into his book and myself, we both feel that these lines encapsulate our feelings on a certain subject. The author of the book I was reading was Hall of Fame NFL coach Marv Levy. This poem helped him get through some of the toughest defeats, including 4 super bowl losses. Instead of getting upset at other people, and as he describes it, falling on the floor in the fetal position, he challenged himself every time to improve, and while a super bowl championship was never hoisted, and Buffalo saw 4 straight defeats, Marv Levy proved what life is pretty much all about. Picking yourself up, dusting yourself off and continuing to live life.

Now, I didn’t lose 4 straight super bowls. I didn’t miss a 45 yard field goal wide right. I didn’t fumble or get picked off. I didn’t lead men into battle, nor did I come close to death. But still this poem came at the right time for me. This summer, as most summers tend to be, was one filled with highs and lows. However it seems that this one in particular was filled with many more valleys then hills. I won’t go into any direct explination because it will be construed as bitching and moaning and i’m sure you don’t wanna read it like I don’t want to type it. But I definatly fell on some hardships. I don’t understand most of it, people hand me the things happen for a reason line but when your bitter and callous you don’t want to hear that. My mom’s line is always “God has a plan”, and I always wanna throw my hands up to the sky and yell “what about my plans? Weren’t my plans good enough.” Aside from waking the neighbors and garnering strange looks from passersby it wouldn’t do much good. Through this hard time i’ve been going through, it really does make me a stronger person. I’ve realized some truths in it all that help me keep on keeping on.

 First I’ve developed such a sense of self since leaving highschool. I was this very shy, very sensative guy who really didn’t have much confidence in himself, but since then I’ve really come into my own. I’ve realized that I don’t need to rely on anyone to be who I am. I don’t need best friends, or girlfriends, or even my family in order to be who I want to be. I rely upon myself. I used to thirst for friendship and intamacy, that used to be my be all and end all. Once I obtained it, it was great don’t get me wrong but I realized that even without it, for breif periods of time will not kill someone. In fact things get less complicated. Don’t get me wrong, love without a doubt is one of the most cherished and unbelieveably good things in this world but just because you lost it or don’t have it at this present time, isn’t a cause for suicide despite what Sean Kingston (artist of the Beautiful Girl) wants to believe.

Thats why this poem hits me so hard. There is certainly a time to grieve, or to feel bad, thats understandable. However you can’t let that consume you. This summer I made a point of not letting that hurt take over because it does no one any good if it does. You don’t need anybody in this world as long as your confident in yourself. I knwo that I will have relationships again, I know that I will feel incredibly happy again, thats not the issue. So as Sir Andrew says, I will lay down, bleed a while, and get back up and fight again.

 I’m done bleeding,

Now its time to fight again!

Goodnight Mrs. Calabash, whever you are!

= CMH =

3 Responses to ““Fight My Men” Sir Andrew Said…”

  1. A great quote I once heard in a movie that will live with me forever is…

    “If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.”

  2. your’e young / and understood /it is a good poem and ironic to my present situation / wish you well.

  3. I’d also heard the quote from Marv Levy and tracked down the poem. It’s called ‘The Ballad of Sir Andrew Barton’, and Marv slightly paraphrased the quote. The original went like this:

    “Fight on, my men,” says Sir Andrew Barton,
    “I am hurt, but I am not slain;
    I’ll lay me down and bleed a while,
    And then I’ll rise and fight again.”

    The message still comes through – though, I haven’t found out who wrote it originally. All I’ve found is that it was ‘an English Writer’, who wrote it on the occasion of Sir Andrew’s death.

    Oh well, it’s still a great quote!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

